For months the beat of the jungle was not playing according to its natural rhythm. Jungle friends and foes alike were coming and going. Silence was weighty and loud. Many were not behaving in their usual manner because something felt wrong. Even among my kingdom Animalia Rodentia Order, there was suspicious activity. I for one attempted to continue business as usual with a moderate degree of success. Yet, even I have to admit that it was not easy.

Then it finally came to pass. Word from the World Wide Rodentia Council came together, representatives from all kingdoms convened about the future state of our glorious world and it was settled: We shall continue on and be strong!

I for one was relieved because for months our livelihood, security, and well-being were hanging in abeyance. During this arduous wait I discovered nothing is ever secure. What you have today can be gone tomorrow.

I felt reduced, diminished, and subjugated under someone else’s control. A grip without the hand. A snare without the pain of the trap. Then I began to wonder when the smoke cleared do I fare better to take matters into my own hands or is it possible for providence and self-determination to peacefully co-exist?

4:51 JT (Jungle Time) and I awoke bright eyed and bushy tailed ready to face the day. As cliché as this is, today truly was the first day of the rest of my life. This was the day I choose to believe there is more to life than what I see. More to life than what I do. It is in this big cosmic maze that I decide whatever I do that is different from before was going to be that thing called change.

Comments are always welcomed

